Category: EP


The County // Reworks

Music from The County OST. Revisited and Reworked.

1. The County (Revisited by Paul Corley) 08:24
2. The County (Revisited by Francesco Fabris) 06:26
3. The County (Revisited by Dylan Henner) 04:24

more from Bedroom Community


Little Moscow

Little Moscow is the new EP from Valgeir Sigurðsson, out on November 15 on Bedroom Community. The EP is the soundtrack of the namesake movie by Grímur Hákonarson.

“I wanted to create a score that resonates with the isolation, suggests nostalgia for a simpler time and acknowledges the recent shifts”
Valgeir Sigurðsson

Composed, produced, mixed and mastered by: Valgeir Sigurðsson at Greenhouse Studios, Reykjavík.
Performed by: Budapest Art Orchestra, Francesco Fabris, Daniel Pioro & Valgeir Sigurðsson.


In the Cold War, Iceland was a western democracy. The United States operated a base there and Iceland was a member of NATO. Coalitions of center-right parties ran the government and town councils all over the country. But there was one exception: In Neskaupstaður, a town of 1500 people in the east of the country, Socialists ran the show. They came to power in 1946 and kept control for 52 years. The town of Neskaupstadur has been undergoing a lot of transitions in recent years. For half a century the town was ruled by socialists and called “Little Moscow”. These days capitalism has taken over, companies have been privatized and a tunnel is being drilled through the mountain that will open the community to the outside world. Director Grímur Hákonarson tells the curious story of a town in the east of Iceland that until not very long ago was one of the most isolated places in the country.

Purchase Little Moscow here.


Scent Opera

The Scent Opera, a strange olfactory & music collaboration that dates back to 2009, is the first release on Bedroom Community’s HVALREKI digital-series. Written by Nico Muhly & Valgeir Sigurðsson for Green Aria: A Scent Opera. ‘An opera for your nose’ by Stewart Matthew, with scents by Christophe Laudamiel. Premiered at New York’s Guggenheim Museum in August 2009, this is the first time the recording has been released.

The opera’s premise is that a sequence of smells guides us through a oblique parable about industrialisation, through short episodic bursts of information. Some smells are dirty, like the rubber of a train in Paris, and others are classically blended harmonically well-rounded scents. Occasionally, a clean, neutral, pure sound arrives as a little flute-scented garden which should have the effect of clearing the chaos of the surrounding music (and, indeed, smells).

Nadia Sirota and Helgi Hrafn Jónsson join us as two of the essential voices that bind the narrative together. The multivalent collaboration yielded many surprising results: a 14-minute score that is funny, aggressive, shape-shifting, electronic, acoustic, and strange


released August 5, 2016

Scent Opera

Composed by Nico Muhly & Valgeir Sigurðsson
Produced by Valgeir Sigurðsson
Orchestrated & Conducted by Nico Muhly
Engineered, Mixed & Mastered by Valgeir Sigurðsson at Greenhouse Studios, Reykjavík

Green Aria, a Scent Opera was created, written and directed by Stewart Matthew
Scents by Christophe Laudamiel
Commissioned by Works & Process at the Guggenheim Museum (NY)

Trombone, Vocals:
Helgi Hrafn Jónsson
Solo Viola:
Nadia Sirota
Solo Bass:
Borgar Magnason
Marimba, Vibraphone, Tubafone: Frank Aarnink
Harp:Katie Buckley

Sif Tulinius
Pálína Árnadóttir
Ingrid Karlsdóttir
Una Sveinbjarnardóttir
Kristín Björg Ragnarsdóttir
Rósa Hrund Guðmundsdóttir
Hrafkell Orri Egilsson
Margrét Árnadóttir

Cello:Júlía Mogensen

Double Bass:
Borgar Magnason
Óttar Sæmundsen

Bass Clarinet:Snorri Heimisson

Kolbeinn Bjarnason
Melkorka Ólafsdóttir


Piano, Celesta, Dulcitone, Glockenspiel, Percussion: Nico Muhly

Programming, Synth: Valgeir Sigurðsson

Artwork by Muriel McDonald

Nico Muhly published by St. Rose Music Publishing Co., Inc.
Valgeir Sigurðsson published by Faber Music Ltd.


Evolution Of Waters

An exclusive EP, only available as album download.
1. Evolution of Waters feat. Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy (from Ekvílibríum)
2. Baby Architect – Rearranged and performed by Sam Amidon
3. Focal Point – Remixed by Kippi KanínusDownload also includes the ‘Evolution of Waters’ official music video directed and animated by Una Lorenzen.


released August 1, 2009